Even though I hate proofreading my work, doing it is so essential.

8 thoughts on “Even though I hate proofreading my work, doing it is so essential.

  1. I’m the same: when I read my work a hideous impatience sets in. One way to get past it is to print the text and mentally “re-set” and then say to myself that whether I read it in 9 minutes or 12 is not as important as reading it carefully.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is also good to know that proofreading is best done by someone else. Newspapers operated on the idea that if a sub-editor reads the text it would take less time than if the one writer wrote it and then slowed down to really concentrate on spotting their own errors. The reason is, naturally, that the sub-editor will spot things far faster than the original writer.
    One way to proof your work is to read it out loud (this doesn´t work for a whole novel). That is probably more reliable way to spot errors and horrible sentences.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

